Next Salon Discussion

First Tuesday current affairs discussion - Tuesday 1 May 7:00pm start

Tuesday 1st May: First Tuesday Current Affairs discussion

We'll discuss a couple of topical issues in the news

The Salon Recommends

Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner

Donate via PayPal

Donations to development costs of website very gratefully received

Login Form



Manchester reviewed
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester theatre reviews

A Christmas Carol

A Christmas Carol

at The International Anthony Burgess Foundation, Manchester

Reviewed by Matthew Dougall December 2017

 

Of all Dickens' novels, A Christmas Carol must be one of the most well known and loved. Even those who don't know the origin of this story, will still surely be aware of a Christmas 'parable' involving a mean old miser who is visited by ghosts to make him change his ways and understand the spirit of Christmas.

Read more...
 
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester theatre reviews

Wizard of Oz

The Wizard of Oz

at Heywood Civic Centre

Reviewed by Matthew Dougall December 2017

 

The Wizard Of Oz is one of the Western World's most beloved and famous children's stories, which first came into being as a novel under the title The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by Frank L Baum in 1900. Since then, the novel has been republished several times, and its story adapted for film, TV and of course the stage.

Read more...
 
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester theatre reviews

Little Women

Little Women

at Hope Mill Theatre

Reviewed by Katie Leicester December 2017

 

Hope Mill Theatre in Manchester was originally an empty listed Victorian warehouse, that two actors spotted on Gumtree and have transformed into Manchester’s newest theatre, hosting smash hits such as ‘Hair’, ‘Yanks’ and ‘Parade’.

 

It is the brainchild of married couple Joseph Houston and William Whelton, who wanted to bring the magic of musicals to Manchester’s fringe scene. The pair opened the 120-150 seater theatre and large cafe bar. The former engine room of the huge mill is now a 50-seater licensed cafe serving food and drink daily until 6pm, and until late during show nights.

Read more...
 
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester theatre reviews

Peter Pan

Peter Pan

at Oldham Library Theatre

Reviewed by Matthew Dougall December 2017

 

The theatre at Oldham library is a compact ampitheatrical space with the semi-circular performing area on floor level and the audience on a set of risers on one side. With this in mind, there should never be any sight issues, and the audience should always be able to see everything without difficulty. Not this afternoon.

 

This afternoon I was present to see Oldham Theatre Workshop's presentation of Peter Pan. Oldham Theatre Workshop is a local institution, and a byword for excellence in youth drama training. Started by David Johnston way back in 1968, the company take students from 6 years to young adults, and have their own studio next door to Oldham's library.

 

It has been a long time since I saw a production by these talented youngsters, and so I was looking forward to what they could do with the well-known and perhaps tired story of Peter Pan.

Read more...
 
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester theatre reviews

Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas

Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas

at Pendleton Sixth Form College

Reviewed by Katie Leicester December 2017

 

As a theatre goer of over forty years and a theatre critic I have seen many professional, no expense spared productions, but I love nothing better than getting back to the roots where it all begins and watch the talent of today start on their first steps to stardom and Musical Theatre.

Read more...
 
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester music reviews

MUMS Festive Concert

MUMS Festive Concert

at The Cosmo Rodewald Concert Hall

Reviewed by Matthew Dougall December 2017

 

For their final concert of 2017, the Manchester University Music Society (MUMS) chose a rather un-festive festive concert programme. I have to be honest, but when a concert advertises itself as 'festive' one immediately thinks of carols, Christmas songs and the like, and not of classical music spreading several centuries including operatic arias. This was a surprise.

 

However, the evening's programme was an interesting one and also very enjoyable. We started with three Baroque choral works sung by The Cosmo Singers, none of which were familiar to me, but I enjoyed listening to them greatly.

Read more...
 
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester theatre reviews

Beautiful - The Carole King Musical

Beautiful - The Carole King Musical

at Palace Theatre, Manchester

Reviewed by Matthew Dougall December 2017

 

Until being asked to review this Musical, the name of Carole King was practically unknown to me - being just that little bit before my time, and not being a part of my musical grounding at school age. I therefore did what any sensible person should do in this case, and search the Web to find out. One of the great things about my job is not simply that I can indulge in my passion of theatre going and enjoying the spectacles before me, but I also learn a lot too.

Read more...
 
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester theatre reviews

Dick Whittington

Dick Whittington

at Opera House, Manchester

Reviewed by Matthew Dougall December 2017

 

Qdos Entertainment are back, and have not skimped on budget to bring you this year's thrilling SFX masterpiece. Costumes and set are wonderful and colourful, songs upbeat and catchy, music great, and the special effects and pyrotechnics are simply the best I have ever seen in any pantomime ever - including Rudolph pulling a sleigh out over the audience. Later on in the show, a large shark was doing the same, whilst the lovers have a lovely tableau in front of a giant Catherine Wheel.

Read more...
 
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester lifestyle reviews

Winter Wonderland

Winter Wonderland

at Event City, Trafford Park

Reviewed by Katie Leicester December 2017

 

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas… well this is certainly true at Event City in Trafford Park. Winter Wonderland is back for its fifth year with live theatre, a circus, fairground stalls, arcade attractions, gifts stalls, fairground rides and of course with the one and only Father Christmas and his glittering elf helpers there is literally something for all ages. For the thirsty adults, there is a well-stocked bar, which has a great range of wines, spirits and beers and of course the infamous hot mulled wine to enjoy whilst soaking up the Christmas atmosphere. There is also an abundance of stalls selling some fantastic foods and sweet treats to satisfy most palates This is the fourth year I have visited Winter Wonderland with my family, and this year the ‘Kingpin Events’ have excelled themselves with plenty of new attractions and fantastic performances.

Read more...
 
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester music reviews

Cendrillon at RNCM

Cendrillon at RNCM

Reviewed by Matthew Dougall December 2017

 

French composer, Jules Massenet was a prolific opera composer, and so as part of the Royal Northern College of Music's French Connections Festival, what better way to celebrate the festive time than with his take on the seasonal classic, Cinderella (Cendrillon in French).

Read more...
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 8 of 54
Join the Salon Email List
Youtube Video of discussion on Energy
RSS Feed for discussions
Manchester Salon Facebook Group
Manchester Salon Facebook Page
Manchester Salon on Twitter